Subscription Getting Re-Subscribed on Component Refresh?

I have a subscription query in a React component and it looks like this:

function SubscribeToUserPresenceUpdates() {
    const {data, loading, error} = useSubscription(
        USER_PRESENCE_SUBSCRIPTION_QUERY,
        {
            variables: {
                "ids_to_watch": messageFolders.current.map(function (theFolder) {
                    return theFolder.id
                })
            },
            onSubscriptionData: ({client, subscriptionData, loading}) => {
                // do stuff with the subscription data
           }
        },
    )

return null;
}

It seems like my subscription resolver is getting subscribed to again, every time there’s a component refresh. I can skip that by doing something like this:

const subscribed = useRef(false);

function SubscribeToUserPresenceUpdates() {
    const {data, loading, error} = useSubscription(
        USER_PRESENCE_SUBSCRIPTION_QUERY,
        {
            variables: {
                "ids_to_watch": messageFolders.current.map(function (theFolder) {
                    return theFolder.id
                })
            },
            skip: subscribed.current,
            onSubscriptionData: ({client, subscriptionData, loading}) => {
                subscribed.current = true;
                // do stuff with the subscription data
           }
        },
    )

return null;
}

Is that the best practices approach?

Looks like you might be calling the useSubscription hook inside a function, beyond the component scope. Hooks may only be called at the top level (or inside other hooks), see https://reactjs.org/docs/hooks-overview.html#rules-of-hooks

This might be causing your hook to be re-initialized on each render.

1 Like

I moved it to the top level per your post, but it still re-subscribes on component refresh. I wonder what I’m missing?