How to get the old item value before it is overwritten by the subscription?

I have a subscription which returns me some item, which I can access in the onData callback. The problem is, this data is already from the updated item, but I need to also access the old one at the same time to compare them. I can’t use cache.readQuery, because the data is already updated in the cache, and I can’t also get it from merge function in typePolicies due to this bug: Apollo Cache V3: References instead of items within merge · Issue #5876 · apollographql/apollo-client · GitHub

The question, how can I do that? I just need to compare the old value of the field with the new one, it have to be very simple, but i’ve spent many hours already and I still have no idea how to do that

Hey @weqwwewqweq :wave:

A type policy is your best bet in this case. That issue you linked is actually not a bug! If you’re getting a Reference in your merge function, you can use the readField function given to you in the third argument to your merge function in order to get fields from the referenced object. You can see this in the FieldPolicy API reference.

new InMemoryCache({
  typePolicies: {
    MyType: {
      fields: {
        myField: {
          merge(existing, incoming, { readField }) {
            const oldField = readField('someField', existing)
            const newField = readField('someField', incoming)
            // do something with these fields
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
})

You can see some additional examples of the readField helper in the merge function doc. Hope this helps!

first of all, since it’s not real items and just references - both existing and incoming objects are references to the same object in the cache:

merge: (existing, incoming, { mergeObjects, readField }) => {
          const oldField = readField('messageCount', existing);
          const newField = readField('messageCount', incoming);