Odyssey Lift-off I: Basics | FEATURE OVERVIEW AND SETUP

Hello Friends,

I’m new to GraphQL and this community and I hope everybody is doing okay. I’m currently on the very first tutorial and I can’t get the client up and running part working. At this point I have tried a bunch of things to get it to work but no luck. I follow the steps on the repo → GitHub - apollographql/odyssey-lift-off-part1 and I still had no luck.

when I run npm start inside the client folder I still get the error below. If anybody could help me that would be highly appreciated because I’m out of ideas at this point.

catstronauts-client@1.0.0 start
react-scripts start
sh: react-scripts: command not found

Hey @ronnypdev ! Sorry to hear you’re running into issues, I’m hoping we can troubleshoot this together!

Usually when I run into this error, it’s because I forgot to run npm install first. Can you try running npm install, then run npm start again?

If that still doesn’t work, were there any errors in the output of the npm install?

Can you also confirm what version of node you’re using? You can find out by running node --version.

Hi @MichelleMabuyo

my node version is this one → v19.5.0

for npm install this is what i. got

npm WARN deprecated fsevents@1.2.4: fsevents 1 will break on node v14+ and could be using insecure binaries. Upgrade to fsevents 2.

up to date, audited 2135 packages in 11s

137 packages are looking for funding
run npm fund for details

80 vulnerabilities (13 low, 16 moderate, 46 high, 5 critical)

To address issues that do not require attention, run:
npm audit fix

To address all issues (including breaking changes), run:
npm audit fix --force

Run npm audit for details.

for npm start, this is what I got

catstronauts-client@1.0.0 start
react-scripts start

sh: react-scripts: command not found